How it all started 

 

 

Yesterday morning while I was at work I was listening to Morgan Heritage’s new album. (Avrakedabra) As I was sitting there listening to one of my favorites songs on the album, (Golden) I started to think about when I first fell in love with Reggae music and the Jamaican culture.

It all began when I was in middle school. At that time in my school Bob Marley’s music was a trend among students. I personally never paid much attention to Bob Marley as an artist or Reggae music because at that time I was into the New Jack Swing Era, (Guy) until one day my curiosity got the best of me. I went to my local record store and bought Legend The Best of Bob Marley and the Wailers. Check out the album here The first song I listened to was Is This Love. I immediately fell in love with that song and the rest of the album. I fell in love with the rhythm, instruments, lyrics and his voice. From that day forward I was in love with reggae music. I began doing research on Bob Marley, Reggae and Jamaica and everything i read I found interesting.

As I continued learning about Jamaica’s culture I came across a fusion of reggae called Dancehall. That’s when I started to listen to Shaba Ranks, Patra, and Super Cat just to name a few. I have to say Dolly My Baby Bad Boy Extended Mix was hot. I still jam to that song.

Today here I am still loving my Reggae and Dancehall music, even though the music has evolved a lot since the 80’s and 90’s. I have a question for my readers, what are some of your favorite Reggae and Dancehall artist? Today my playlist is Jah Cure. He’s a wonderful artist. Check him out if you haven’t heard of him.  I’ll be writing more soon. Talk to you later.

Mimi

  • Miminomics is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associate Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. 

 

Leave a Reply

